RWBY

Necromance old blog posts, talk about Shamus' books or videos, or discuss allied projects like Errant Signal
Forum rules
This forum is not for swiping blog threads. Avoid talking about blog posts less than a month old.
Kavonde

RWBY

Postby Kavonde » Fri Aug 30, 2013 10:54 pm

I'd known--vaguely--that there was a new Rooster Teeth show called RWBY, but I never really looked into it. Being a bit bored today, I'd been watching through various old "Things to Do" and "RT Life" videos I'd missed since the Let's Plays got their own channel, and when I ran out of those, I figured I'd give it a look. And then I realized that it was a CG anime series by Monty Oum.

If you don't know who Monty Oum is, you're missing out. He's a self-taught animator who first became known for his Dead Fantasy series, in which a bunch of pretty girls from Final Fantasy and Dead or Alive (and, gradually, more games) fight eachother for no apparent reason. There's not exactly a lot of plot (though some starts getting introduced later), but the action more than makes up for it. It's ridiculously over-the-top, incredibly intense and energetic, inventive, dramatic, and somehow constantly keeps upping the stakes even when it doesn't seem like there's anywhere else the fights could go. It's seriously amazing.

A few years back, Rooster Teeth (the guys behind Red vs. Blue) hired him to animate some scenes for the show. That led to this. And more and more. By the next season, Monty was basically given half of the show to tell the story of the Freelancers, and there are more amazing fight scenes than you might believe. Like this one. And this one. And... well, you can just watch the show if ya care.