Magic: the Gathering

Talk about nerdgames FOR NERDS.
Lovecrafter

Magic: the Gathering

Postby Lovecrafter » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:18 am

I think this could be a good topic here, although I'm not good at introductory posts.

For the uninitiated: Magic: the Gathering is a trading card game, designed by Richard Garfield, in which you are a "planeswalker": an extremely powerful wizard with the ability to cross the boundaries between worlds. And of course you use these world-changing abilities to beat the tar out of other planeswalkers, by summoning creatures to fight for you, hurl bolts of lightning at their face directly, crush their puny minds, call in favors from other 'walkers, or win through some other, fancy way.

Anyway, I love this game. There's over 13000 cards to build decks with, and a steady flow of new cards each year to expand your options. And even beyond deckbuilding and playing, the game has good flavor, interesting settings and characters for people into that. Oh, and you can turn yourself into a dragon. That's pretty awesome.

So, who else likes this game? What do you people play? What's your favorite card/combo/creature/whatever?
I mostly play the Commander variant (roughly 16 decks), but I'm looking to step into Modern with a Restore Balance deck. My favorite card is the aforementioned Form of the Dragon and my favorite creature type is Gorgon (which extends beyond Magic into all fiction).

NEWS CORNER (will be updated regularly)
M14 has been completely spoiled , they've announced the next fall block, known as Theros/Born of the Gods/Journey Into Nix, Duel Decks: Heroes versus Monsters and From the Vault: 20.
Last edited by Lovecrafter on Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nyctef

Re: Magic: the Gathering

Postby Nyctef » Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:56 pm